Greening up your bathroom!

I know, I know. I missed a day of blogging. Yesterday, I had a lot on my plate, but today I’m back!

And I’m going to talk about some of the ways you can learn to reuse things in your bathroom (as well as in other parts of the home).

Some of these ideas I’ve already given a shot, and some of them I haven’t, but look very helpful nonetheless.

About 2 years ago, I started to notice that, when I buy bathroom products, they always come in thick plastic bottles. I also noticed that the bottles never get re-used; they just get thrown out to be placed in a landfill or recycled into more plastic bottles.

My thought was, why not make my own soaps, toothpastes, and lotions? I can simultaneously enjoy the effects of clean, all natural products made with very simple ingredients, while producing a lot less waste.

Plastics are a huge source of waste in America. As consumers, we buy everything wrapped up in layers upon layers of plastic. Why?

In 2012, the U.S. generated 32 million tons of plastic out of the 236 million tons of solid waste produced each year. That’s 13.6% of our waste that could be vastly reduced if people reused plastic more often, or properly recycled it. This number is only plastic, too. There are many other forms of garbage that would be very easy to eliminate if we were simply less picky about our packaging.

So back to the bathroom.

I started with deodorant. You’d be surprised how easy it is to make, but how bad it is for your body.

The active ingredient in most deodorants, aluminum, is a metal that is found in many products, although it provides no natural benefit to the human body. Actually, it does quite the opposite. Studies show that aluminum can negatively affect the neurological system and has even been linked to degenerative brain diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. Again… why do we use it? In deodorant, it is used as an antiperspirant.

I think I’d rather sweat than have metals that are proven toxic leech into my body through my pits, so I hopped onto the internet and found some nifty and relatively inexpensive recipes for homemade deodorant.

This is a pretty good one. I added some beeswax to thicken in cedar essential oil to smell amazing. All the while, I’m minimizing my use of disposable plastic containers and staying away from harmful chemicals that have no place on my body.

The next thing, which a few people I know swear by, is going no shampoo. Or conditioner, for that matter.

It’s a big deal in our society to constantly be clean. We’ve developed an obsession for buying huge bottles of soap and scrubbing ourselves with plastic loofas until we’re perfectly clean and dried out . What I’ve learned, and what most people aren’t aware of, is that we really weren’t designed to be lathered every day. Our skin has natural oils that keep it hydrated and healthy.

The same can be said about our hair. While there is a greasy period that happens after ceasing to shampoo, the hair will balance itself. When we strip our skin and hair of the natural oils, it starts overproducing those natural oils. Once it is left to regulate itself, it will do just that, and by saving your money for more important things, you’re not only cutting down on shower time by not having to wash your hair, but greatly reducing your consumption of plastic.

There are so many more options to green your bathroom: some that may seem awesome, and some you may not be ready for, but you’d be surprised to find that, the less products we buy and use on our bodies, the healthier both we and the environment are.

Here are some ideas for reducing the amount of water you use in your bathroom.

Here are some ideas and recipes to start using instead of buying.

Consider looking into ways you can reduce your production of waste in other parts of your house. There are so many fun and new things to try.

Thanks for reading! I hope you try out some of these recipes and enjoy!

~Micaela~

http://www.epa.gov/osw/conserve/materials/plastics.htm

http://www.forbes.com/2006/05/23/waste-worlds-worst-cx_rm_0524waste.html

http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/concerned-about-aluminum-dangers/#2

Leave a Reply

